Mrs. Brenda C. Murphy – President

Rev. William Gaither, 1st Vice President

Mr. William Wilson, 2nd Vice President

Mrs. Marion C. Miller, 3rd Vice President

Mr. Henry Griffin, 4th Vice President

Mr. Nathan Phillips, Secretary

Mrs. Elizabeth Kilgore, Asst. Secretary

Ms. Sharon Daniels, Treasurer

Asst. Treasurer

Dr. Lonnie Randolph, Jr., Executive Committee

Mrs. Linda McNeil, Executive Committee

Rev. Otis J. Outing, Executive Committee

Mr. Simon Major, Jr., Executive Committee

Mr. Ben C. Johnson, Jr., Executive Committee

Ms. Mae F. Carroll, Executive Committee

Mr. Julius Adger, Sr., Executive Committee

Mrs. Brenda Gilmore-Ratliff, Executive Committee


Mr. Dwight C. James, Sr. – Executive Director

Mrs. Sarah E. Redden – Administrative Coordinator


Mrs. Kathy Jenkins, Freedom Fund

Mr. Vince Ford, Education

Ms. Ethel Jefferson, Housing

Mr. Melvin Hart, Labor and Industry

Ms. Annie McDaniel, Political Action

Mr. Charles Boykin, Esquire, Legal Redress

Ms. LouBirdie Law, Membership and Life Membership

Rev. Anthony Waymyers, Religious Affairs

Ms. Rhonda Tucker, Youth Work

Mr. Curtis Carter, Economic Development and Audit

Mr. Fred Williams, Community Coordination

Mr. LeMoine Walker, Armed Services and Veteran Affairs

Mr. Lewis Nelson, Criminal Justice Committee

Mrs. Patricia Wright-Dawson, Event Coordinator

Ms. Linda McNeil, Woman of the Year

Ms. Joyce Poulard, ACT-SO Program

Mr. Gerald Wright, Health

Dr. Mamie Hartwell, Communications, Press and Publicity

Mrs. Millicent Lann, Young Adult Engagement


Mr. Saleem Shabazz – Region One-A

Mr. Bernard Smith – Region One-B

Mrs. Elma Morrison – Region Two-A

Mr. Eugene White, Jr. – Region Two-B

Ms. Susie Hinton – Region Three

Rev. Joseph Hood – Region Four

Rev. Harris Barker – Region Five-A

Ms. Jean Capers – Region Five-B

Mrs. Barbara Williams – Region Five-C

Mrs. Elizabeth Kilgore – Region Six

Mr. Sylvester Hudson – Region Seven-A

Mr. James Wilson – Region Seven-B

Mr. Otis Franklin – Region Eight-A

Mrs. Brenda Bines – Watson – Region Nine-A

Mrs. Karen Wright – Chisolm – Region Nine-B

Mr. Kenneth James – Region Ten


The South Carolina State Conference is the leading civil rights organization in the state of South Carolina. The organization was chartered in 1939 and now operates through a network of branches, youth councils and college chapters located across the forty-six counties of the state. The NAACP is driven by volunteers committed to the mission of the oldest civil rights organization in America.

Our Mission

Through a dedicated volunteer force we seek to eliminate the impact of racial discrimination in housing, employment, voting, health care, education, and the Courts.

Getting Involved

To join your local NAACP, call us at 803-754-4584.

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can
take care of it!

All entries, chronologically…